Posted on Apr 4, 2012 in In The News, News Release

The Hawaii Air National Guard (HIANG) announced the recipients of its annual “Launa Ole” awards this afternoon at Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam ceremony held in Hangar 19. The Launa Ole (meanings include: unequalled, superior) awards are for outstanding performance for individuals and teams over the past year.


Airman of the Year

Full Time – SrA Uyen T. N. Tran, 154th Logistics Readiness Squadron

Traditional – A1C Mose W. Matila, 154th Security Forces Squadron


Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year

Full Time – TSgt Yvonne P. A. Reyes, 154th Aircraft Maintenance

Traditional – SSgt Melissa L. O. Souza, 201st Intelligence Squadron


Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year

Full Time – MSgt Ryan K. Schreiner, 154th Security Forces Squadron

Traditional – MSgt John Y. H. Kim, 109th Air Operations Group


First Sergeant of the Year

SMSgt Kristen M. Stanley, 154th Maintenance Squadron


Company Grade Officer of the Year

Full Time – Capt Richard M. Cline, 154th Logistics Readiness Squadron

Traditional – Capt James L. Hughes, 109th Air Operations Group


Field Grade Officer of the Year

Full Time – Maj Troy C. Cullen, 204th Airlift Squadron

Traditional – Lt Col Kyle Y. Mitsumori, 109th Air Operations Group


There are approximately 2,500 officers and airmen in the HIANG spread over the islands of Kauai, Oahu, Maui and the Big Island.  There are three flying units (F-22s, KC-135s and C-17s) under the 154th Wing, one of the largest wings in the Total Force. Other major HIANG units include the 201st Combat Communications Group, and the 109th Air Operations Group.



For more information, contact:

Lt. Col. Charles Anthony

Public Affairs Officer

Phone: (808) 733-4258