Hawaii Advisory Council on Emergency Management

Hawaii Revised Statutes §127A-4 authorizes the Hawaii Advisory Council on Emergency Management (HACEM). Originally established in 1951, the Advisory Council serves as a resource to the Governor and the Director of Emergency Management on emergency management topics and concerns. The council was known as the Civil Defense Advisory Council until July 1, 2014 when HRS 127A became effective.

The council consists of seven members nominated by the governor. The Senate Committee on Public Safety, Intergovernmental, and Military Affairs conducts an “Advise and Consent” hearing to review the qualifications of each nominee. The committee provides all senators a recommendation prior to the full Senate confirmation vote.

Confirmed council members serve a four year term. The Governor may renominate members for a second four-year term. Sometimes, nominations are for shorter terms to fill out the terms of members who resigned. The Governor designates the chair of the council.

Council members receive no compensation but there is reimbursement for travel and other reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in carrying out their council duties.

Current Council Members:

Council member Represents Term expires
William Anonsen, Chair Oahu June 30, 2021
Colton Ching Oahu June 30, 2019
Dominador “Don” Coloma East Hawaii June 30, 2018
Gerald Silva Oahu June 30, 2022
Sheldon Lehman West Hawaii June 30, 2021
Vacant Maui June 30, 2022
Jan TenBruggencate Kauai June 30, 2020

Individuals who are interested in serving of the Hawaii Advisory Council on Emergency Management, should apply on the State’s Boards and Commissions website –