HIANG 2019 Launa'ole Awards

Launa'ole – a Hawaiian phrase meaning "beyond comparison" or "without peer." It describes our vision for the Hawaii Air National Guard to be a professional fore that is second to none, or simply the best.

Congratulations to all the nominees and recipients of the Hawaii Air National Guard's 2019 Launa'ole Awards.

Airman of the Year Nominees

- A1C Christopher Burt, 154th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron (154 AMXS)
- A1C Christian Pestilli, 154th Operations Support Squadron (154 OSS)
- SrA Nicholas Bakos, 292nd Combat Communications Squadron (292 CBCS)
- SrA Krystal Banogon, 201st Combat Operations Squadron (201 COS)
- SrA Nathan Barbosa, 154th Civil Engineering Squadron (154 CES)
- SrA Jordon Hernandez, 169th Air Defense Squadron (169 ADS)
- SrA Charlesee Stevens, 169th Air Defense Squadron (169 ADS)
- SrA Michael Whipple, 201st Intel Squadron (201 IS)

Airman of the Year Full Time: SrA Nathan I. Barboza, 154 CES

Airman of the Year Part Time: SSgt Nicolas S. Bakos, 292 CBCS

Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year Nominees

- SSgt Anjellican Amian, 154th Civil Engineering Squadron (154 CES)
- SSgt Jason Camarillo, 169th Air Defense Squadron (169 ADS)
- SSgt Julie Quiocho, 201st Air Mobility Operations Squadron (201 AMOS)
- SSgt Micah Velasco, 154th Logistics Readiness Squadron (154 LRS)
- SSgt Erik Wierschemm, 204th Airlift Squadron (204 AS)
- TSgt Adam Bray, 169th Air Defense Squadron (169 ADS)
- TSgt John Henry Lakalo, 154th Maintenance Squadron (154 MXS)
- TSgt Sharon Pasion, Hq, Hawaii Air National Guard (HQ HIANG)
- TSgt Hoang Pham, 154th Controller Flight (154 CPTF)
- TSgt Aaron Vierra-Villanueava, 204th Airlift Squadron (204 AS)
- TSgt Niki Tomasas, 201st Combat Operations Squadron (201 COS)

Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year Full Time: TSgt Sharon M. Pasion

Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year Part Time: SSgt Jason F. Camarillo

Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year Nominees

- MSgt Jing Antolin, 154th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron (154 AMXS)
- MSgt Bles May Daog, 199th Fighter Squadron (199 FS)
- MSgt Kareen Fuertes, 154th Civil Engineering Squadron (154 CES)
- MSgt Friedrich Gebauer, 201st Air Mobility Operations Squadron (201 AMOS)
- MSgt Lawrence Lee, 201st Combat Operations Squadron (201 COS)
- MSgt Sergio Munoz, Hq, 154th Wing (154 WG)
- MSgt Garrett M. Nishida, 292nd Combat Communications Squadron (292 CBCS)
- MSgt Todd Shak, Hq, Hawaii Air National Guard (HQ HIANG)
- SMSgt Michelle Davidson, 154th Operations Support Squadron (154 OSS)
- SMSgt Angel Umiamaka, 298th Support Squadron (298 SS)

<u>Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year Full Time</u>: **SMSgt Angel L. Umiamaka** <u>Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year Part Time</u>: **MSgt Garrett M. Nishida**

First Sergeant of the Year Nominees

- MSgt Lori Jean A.H. Lopez, 154th Logistics Readiness Squadron (154 LRS)
- SMSgt Daniel T. Hiyama, 154th Wing (154 WG)

First Sergeant of the Year: **SMSgt Daniel T. Hiyama**

Company Grade Officer of the Year Nominees

- 2nd Lt Crystal Ann Mokiao, 201st Combat Operations Squadron (201 COS)
- Capt Raynell Anes, 154th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron (154 AMXS)
- Capt Gordon Kai, 169th Air Defense Squadron (169 ADS)
- Capt Evan Kurosu, 204th Airlift Squadron (204 AS)
- Capt Elijah Lincoln, 298th Support Squadron (298 SS)
- Capt Charles Morris, 199th Fighter Squadron (199 FS)
- Maj Emilio Placencia, 154th Civil Engineering Squadron (154 CES)

Company Grade Officer of the Year Full Time: Capt Evan S. Kurosu

Company Grade Officer of the Year Part Time: Capt Jack K. Munechika

Field Grade Officer of the Year Nominees

- Maj Jessie Barber, 154th Logistics Readiness Squadron (154 LRS)
- Maj Brandon Chang, 204th Airlift Squadron (204 AS)
- Maj Britton Komine, 201st Air Mobility Operations Squadron (201 AMOS)
- Maj Eric Kawaguchi, 169th Air Defense Squadron (169 ADS)
- Maj Koani Lau, 203rd Air Refueling Squadron (203 ARS)
- Maj Miriam Leila Thorne, 201st Air Mobility Operations Squadron (201 AMOS)

Field Grade Officer of the Year Full Time: Maj Britton J. Komine

Field Grade Officer of the Year Part Time: Maj Koani G. Lau

Team of the Year Nominees

- Commander Support Staff, 154th Operations Group
- Electrical & Environmental Systems Team, 154th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron
- Recruiting Team, Headquarters Hawaii Air National Guard
- Readiness Team, 154th Security Forces
- Wing Drug Testing Program Management Team, 154th Medical Group
- Battle Control Center Instructor Course Development Team, 169th Air Defense Squadron
- HQ HIANG Recruiting Team, Hq, Hawaii Air National Guard (HQ HIANG)

Winning Team of the Year: HQ HIANG Recruiting Team

Service Team Award

154th Force Support Squadron (154 FSS)

Outstanding Unit of the Year Nominees

- Detachment 1, Headquarters 154th Medical Group
- 154th Comptroller Flight
- 169th Air Defense Squadron
- 154th Force Support Squadron
- 199th Fighter Squadron (199 FS)

Outstanding Unit of the Year: 199th Fighter Squadron (199 FS) (to include our 19th Fighter Squadron partners)

Kaleo Nui Award

154th Medical Group (154 MDG)

Check out the photographs of the recipients

Check out the event videos