Motor Vehicle Exemption for Veterans with a Service-Connected Disability rating of 100%Posted on Dec 26, 2019 in Main, News, News Release, Press Releases, slider
Motor Vehicle Exemption for Veterans with a Service-Connected Disability rating of 100%
Governor David Y. Ige signed a new measure on July 2, 2019 allowing a 100% disabled veteran to get a discount on their car registration. One of the requirements was taken out allowing more veterans to obtain this exemption.
Motor Vehicle Exemption
(Entitles you to a $45.00 State Registration Fee Exemption only). You must still pay the balance due. For example, if your registration fee is $245. DMV will minus $45 and then you will have to pay the remaining balance of $200 for your car registration.
The Veteran must meet all 3 eligibility requirements:
1. Service Connected 100% Disability VA Rating
2. Hawaii Resident
3. Other than “Dishonorable Discharge”
You need to bring to the Office of Veterans’ Services (OVS):
1. Hawaii Drivers License
2. Car Registration
3. Current verification decision letter from the VA showing 100% Disability
The receptionist or counselor will create a letter for you. The veteran will then have to give the letter to the Dept. of Motor Vehicles (DMV) when it is time to pay for your registration fees.
Hawaii Revised Statues
Act 188 HB601