HI-EMA administers three FEMA grant programs that are focused on Hazard Mitigation:

  1. Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC)
  2. Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP)
  3. Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA)


* 2021 Notice of Funding Opportunity for the BRICFMA programs have been released!

View the full BRIC NOFO & FMA NOFO announcements.

Interested organizations must submit a pre-application Notice of Intent (NOI) to HI-EMA by 5 p.m. HST on September 17, 2021.

Submit a pre-application BRIC NOI or FMA NOI

State and local mitigation activities that qualify for FEMA funding include:

  • Hazard mitigation planning.
  • Retrofit of critical facilities.
  • Acquisition, elevation, relocation or drainage improvements of repetitive flood loss structures.
  • Construction or upgrade of general population shelters.
  • Enhancement of development codes and standards.
  • Safe rooms and storm shelters.
  • Redundant power supply for critical facilities.
  • Warning systems.

Who is Eligible for Hazard Mitigation Grants?

State and County Agencies are eligible to apply for BRIC, HMGP, and FMA.  Certain private, non-profit organizations are eligible to apply for HMGP only.  Individuals and businesses are not eligible to apply directly; however, an eligible state or county agency may apply on behalf of individuals or businesses through sponsorship.

For more information on eligibility, please contact the State Hazard Mitigation Officer at 808-733-4300 ext. 812

Review required documents & additional resources for HMA Grant Program Applications

Review FEMA’s HMA Guidance 2015HMA Guidance 2015 Addendum for application & reporting requirements.